The Government of Pakistan () is a federal government established by the Constitution of Pakistan as a constituted governing authority of the four provinces of a proclaimed and established parliamentary democratic republic, constitutionally called the State of Pakistan. Effecting the Westminster system for governing the state, the government is composed of the three branches: executive, legislative, and judicial, which all powers are vested by the Constitution in the Parliament, the Prime Minister and the Supreme Court. The powers and duties of these branches are further defined by acts and amendments of the Parliament, including the creation of executive institutions, departments and courts inferior to the Supreme Court. Granting constitutional powers to President to promulgate the ordinances and passing bills, the president acted as the ceremonial figurehead and the people-elected Prime Minister acting as the chief executive (of the executive branch) and responsible for running the federal government. Consisting of a bicameral Parliament with the National Assembly as a lower house and the Senate as an upper house. The judicial branch systematically contains its apex Supreme Court, high courts of four provinces, numbers of district, anti-terrorism, Sharia, and the green courts; all inferior to Supreme Court. The full name of the nation-state is the Islamic Republic of Pakistan. No other name appears in the Constitution, and this is the name that appears on money, in treaties, and in legal cases. The “Pakistan Government” or “Government of Pakistan” are often used in official documents representing the federal government collectively. Also, the terms “Federal” and “National” in government institution or program names generally indicates affiliation with the federal government. Because the seat of government is in Islamabad, “Islamabad” is commonly used as a metonym for the federal government.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here